FOCAL International Awards 2019 winners announced

focal international logo
FOCAL International press release – 21 June, 2019.

FOCAL International are proud to announce the winners from last night’s FOCAL Awards ceremony, held at the Troxy in London.

The trade association have given 14 awards to productions making bold and compelling use of archival footage, as well as three personnel awards recognising the work of practitioners, researchers and companies and two awards celebrating restoration and preservation.

Julien Temple also received the Lifetime Achievement Award, which came with a few surprises in the form of a video message from Keith Richards, and Wilko Johnson handing Julien his award on stage.

The acclaimed filmmaker went on to thank all the talented archive producers with whom he’s worked and advocated for the power of archival footage to tell immersive stories.

Guests were entertained by the charming wit of comedian Zoe Lyons, as the FOCAL Awards 2019 ceremony host.

Here are the winners for each category:

Footage Person of the Year
Jane Fish, Imperial War Museums
Footage Company of the Year
Best Archive Restoration & Preservation Project
Joe 90
Best Archive Restoration & Preservation Title
Best Use of Footage in a History Production
The Scientist, The Imposter and Stalin: How to Feed the People
(Le savant, l’imposteur et Staline: Comment Nourrir le Peuple)

Best Use of Footage in an Entertainment Production
Best Use of Footage in a Sports Production – TIE
Bobby Robson: More Than a Manager & Momentum Generation
Best Use of Footage on Innovative Platforms
British Pathé TV
Best Use of Footage in an Arts Production
Kulenkampff’s Shoes
Best Use of Footage in a Factual or Natural World Production
Under the Wire
Best Use of Footage in a Music Production
John and Yoko: Above Us Only Sky
Best Use of Footage in a History Feature
Apollo 11
Best Use of Footage in Advertising or Branded Content
WWF – Fight For Your World
Best Use of Footage in a Short Film Production
A Night at the Garden
Best Use of Footage in a Cinematic Feature
They Shall Not Grow Old
Student Jury Award for Most Inspiring Use of Archive
Jane Mercer Researcher of the Year Award
Peter Scott for A Dangerous Dynasty: House of Assad

FOCAL International would like to extend their congratulations to all of the awardees, nominees and attendees of this year’s awards, as well as our many jurors and sponsors, without whom the delivery of such an important and vibrant competition.

The FOCAL Awards will return in 2020, and submissions will open later this year. Expressions of interest ahead of time are welcome and encouraged. The team can be contacted through

About FOCAL International Ltd

FOCAL International (Federation of Commercial Audiovisual Libraries) is a professional not-for-profit trade association formed in 1985.

It is fully established as one of the leading voices in the industry which represents the footage and content libraries in over 30 countries, the archive producers, researchers, consultants and facility companies.

The FOCAL International Awards are the organisation’s flagship event and exists to champion the use of archive footage in the creative industries as well as the work and contributions of many of its talented members.