FOCAL International Awards submissions deadline extended to 16th December

FOCAL International press release, 6 December, 2016.

To give everyone a chance to take part in the most prestigious and complete set of awards in the global footage business, we’ve extended the FOCAL International submissions deadline to 16th December. 

The FOCAL International Awards, now in its 14th year, is a showcase to celebrate achievement in the use of footage in all variety of genres, across all media platforms plus its restoration.

Producers, filmmakers and other creative professionals who have used library stock and archive footage in a documentary, feature film or any other form of production over the last year are encouraged to submit their work for consideration. There are also Awards to celebrate the contribution made to the world’s production community by archives, film libraries, researchers and technicians, as well as the work done to restore and preserve these irreplaceable assets.

The 2017 FOCAL International Award Categories are as follows:

  • Best Use of Footage in a History Production
  • Best Use of Footage in a History Feature
  • Best Use of Footage in a Factual Production
  • Best Use of Footage in an Entertainment Production
  • Best Use of Footage in an Arts Production
  • Best Use of Footage in a Music Production
  • Best Use of Sports Footage
  • Best use of Footage about the Natural World
  • Best Use of Footage on Other Platforms
  • Best Use of Footage in a Cinema Release
  • Best Archive Restoration & Preservation Project
  • The Jane Mercer Footage Researcher of the Year Award
  • Footage Employee of the Year
  • Footage Library of the Year
  • Lifetime Achievement Award

The qualifying period is productions premiered in 2016 and entry is via the FOCAL website until the closing date 16th December. Any productions being premiered during December can make a late submission, by prior arrangement.

In all the production title and restoration categories the submission fee is £75. For other categories there is no fee.

All awards will be presented on the evening of the 25th May 2017 at a glittering award ceremony at the Royal Lancaster Hotel, London UK – a magnet for all leaders of the global footage community. Tickets go on sale in February.

For an overview go to

Sponsorship opportunities

FOCAL International has enjoyed support from all areas of the industry over the past 14 years and would welcome inquiries from new sponsors at all levels – main sponsorship and category sponsorship. For a brief overview of the Awards, check out FOCAL’s Awards Ceremony Promo video.

Those interested in sponsorship opportunities should contact FOCAL International, or Tel: +44 (0) 20 3178 3535

About FOCAL International

The Federation of Commercial Audiovisual Libraries International is a professional not-for-profit trade association formed in 1985. It is fully established as one of the leading voices in the industry, with a membership of over 300 international companies and individuals. Its purpose is to facilitate the use of library footage, images, stills and audio in all forms of media production; promote its members – libraries selling content plus those whose serve the industry; provide a platform for members to promote themselves and their interests; encourage good practise in the research, licensing, copyright clearance and use of footage; support, promote and educate on the need to preserve and restore footage and content; act as an information resource for the footage and content industry; offer training in key skills and in the broader appreciation of the footage and content industry; home of the FOCAL International Awards ceremony.